News & Events from November 2017

Namibia Media Holdings invites entries for the 2018 Responsible Tourism Awards

Namibia Media Holdings invites entries for the 2018 Responsible Tourism Awards

Press release by Namibia Media Holdings:

Following the recent celebration of our 2017 RTA Winners:

  • Tourism Accommodation: Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp, Jackalberry Tented Camp, Ongava Tented Camp and Etosha Safari Lodge,

Namibia Media Holdings invites entries for the 2018 Responsible Tourism Awards.

The winners of these prestigious awards will be selected from two entry categories:

1) Tourism Accommodation Establishments

2) Tour Operators (including car rentals, shuttles etc.)

The first pre-requisite is that all entrants MUST be registered with the Namibia Tourism Board as an individual entity.

Please also note that there need to be at least 6 entries in each category. All the qualifying Tour Operators in Namibia may enter, since there was no winner in 2017.

For the Accommodation Establishments, there will be a 3-year gap for the previous winners, which means that Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge (2016 Winner) and Wilderness Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp (2017 Winner) will not be able to enter again this year.

Each entity who would like to be considered for this prestigious award needs to provide evidence of excellent performance, measured against the principles of sustainable tourism.

The criteria include: Sustainable Management, Natural Resources, Waste Handling, Building & Landscaping, Staff, Safety and Legal Compliance and Social Responsibility Initiatives Aimed at Poverty Eradication.

Proof of a successful routine assessment by Eco Awards Namibia (achieving at least 4 Eco-Flowers) will be the minimum entry requirement. If an establishment or operator has not yet been audited, an assessment needs to be arranged and completed by November 2017.

(More information regarding the Eco Awards Assessment can be obtained from Hazel Milne, Programme Coordinator at Eco Awards Namibia:

Finalists in each category will then be selected for a more extensive evaluation, where the criteria will be based on the theme for the 2018 Tourism Expo: “Conservation – small things matter”.

There will be three winners in each category with prizes in editorial and advertorial coverage as follows:

  1. N$250,000
  2. N$150,000
  3. N$100,000

These prizes include N$100,000 in cash for community upliftment in the areas which the winners operate in.


Entries for the Tour Operator awards is open until 15 November 2017.

Entries for the Accommodation Establishment Awards is open till 15 November 2017. Judging of entries will take place from end 2017 till April 2018. The three finalists in each category will be announced early in 2018. The winner in each category will be announced at the 2018 Namibia Tourism Expo.

Applications are available online: follow this link -

Tourismus Namibia will feature regular updates on these prestigious awards.

Issued by Maggy Mbako,