Management and Partners

Management Committee

A Management Committee was established in 2004 to run the Eco Awards Namibia programme.

In 2007 the programme was formalised with a constitution and extended membership from Tourism related organisations. Our Namibian partner organisations ("alliance members") are now actively involved in the running of Eco Awards and are represented on the Management Committee. The Management Committee members have a wide spread of expertise in many fields and this expertise is available to assist and guide establishments, not only in qualifying for an Eco Award, but in any matter related to sustainable tourism and protecting the environment.

The Management Committee comprises the executive committee and representatives of our Namibian partner organisations, as follows.

The Executive Committee:

  • Programme coordinator: Hazel Milne
  • Chairperson: Claud Bosch
  • Vice-chairperson & Financial matters: Hoens Potgieter
  • Member: Marie Friede
  • Member: Jonas Heita
  • Member: Ellen Kimaro
  • Member: Liesl Liebenberg

Our Namibian partner organisations:

Bed & Breakfast Association of Namibia (BBAN)
City of Windhoek (CoW)
Department of Environmental Affairs in the Ministry of Environment and Tourism (DEA)
Directorate of Tourism and Gaming in the Ministry of Environment and Tourism (DoT)
Emerging Tourism Enterprises Association (ETEA)
Federation of Namibian Tourism Association in Namibia (FENATA)
Hospitality Association of Namibia (H·A·N)
Namibia Institute of Architects (NIA)
Namibia Media Holdings (NMH)
Namibia Nature Foundation (NNF)
Namibia Tourism Board (NTB)
Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)
Namibian Association of Community Based Natural Resource Management (CBNRM) Support Organisations (NACSO)
Recycle Namibia Forum (RNF)
Tour and Safari Association of Namibia (TASA)
University of Namibia (UNAM)

Continental partners

In addition to a strong network of Namibian partners Eco Awards has affiliations and membership of continental partners as follows.

Sustainable Tourism Certification Alliance Africa